AFFEN
Nadine Coban - Lead Teacher

 

After I finished my secondary school, I studied for three years in Switzerland and completing my Bachelor's degree in Pre-Primary Education.

 

I worked as a Kindergarten / Preschool Director in a School near Zurich (Switzerland), taught Kids between 4 and 7.

 

In addition to my work, I volunteered at the local Kids Sport Club.

 

My Husband and I married at the Beach of Sanibel Island in Florida.

 

We both love adventures, that's why we moved across the ocean and realized our big dream to live in the US.

 

Now we got the great opportunity to live in San Diego and  really appreciate being a part of the Rasselbande.

 

When I am not working, I love travelling, exploring, playing instruments, reading, spending time with animals, swimming and being with my husband & friends.“

Johanna Petosa - Teacher

 

I grew up in Kärnten (Carinthia), Austria where I studied for five years at a high school for economics and gastronomy. I finished my education in Klagenfurt at a private academy for languages and business. Since I wanted to gain some work experience abroad, I came to San Diego in October 1999 on a student visa and started my practical training in the beautiful Westgate Hotel in Downtown San Diego.

 

I met my husband Mike here, and in December 2000 we got married in San Diego. Soon after I gave birth to our daughter, Sophia. When my second child, Michael, was born in November 2002, we were already part of a German playgroup. Eight months later, my friend Heike Paulsen and I decided to form a German cooperative preschool and named it “Die Rasselbande” – yes, Die Rasselbande was born in late summer of 2003! We had six children enrolled in no time and rented a room at a recreation center in Pacific Beach three mornings per week. The group kept on growing and we soon realized that we were on to something and needed professionals on board. We hired a German preschool teacher to guide us, and I started to take courses at the community college in Child Development to become a qualified teacher. Over a few years I acquired more than 30 units and am continuing to work towards the bachelor’s degree.

 

My family grew even bigger in February 2009 when my son Cornelius was born. I enjoy working with children and I am thrilled to be teaching in German, my mother tongue! I am also happy to be able to practice and pass on the traditions I grew up with. When I am not working, I enjoy spending time with my husband and children, hiking, swimming, dancing, and playing soccer or board games